

March 28, 2017

Mr. James G. Crawford, Chair Chatham County Board of Commissioners P.O. Box 1809 Pittsboro, NC 27312

Dear Commissioner Crawford:

Today, the Chatham Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors voted unanimously to approve the recommendations of the EDC nomination committee, comprised of Dr. T.E. Marchant, Mr. Dan Sundberg and Mr. Drew Weniger, and forward to the Chatham County Board of Commissioners for approval. The EDC nomination committee was tasked with interviewing and recommending applicants for the EDC Board of Directors to fill two vacancies due to resignation and a Chatham County residency requirement. The EDC nomination committee has recommended Mr. Lee Bowman and Ms. Chreatha Alston to fill those vacancies.

The EDC nomination committee also recommended the reappointment of four existing members of the EDC Board of Directors at the conclusion of their first term. These reappointments include the chair, vice-chair and secretary of the EDC Board of Directors.

According to Article III, Section 3 of the Chatham County EDC's current bylaws, "Each voting director of the corporation shall be appointed by the Chatham County Board of Commissioners, as follows: Each County Commissioner may nominate a candidate for a director position to be approved by the Board of Commissioners. Each of those directors shall be appointed to serve a four year term to run concurrent with the current term of the County Commissioner who nominated that director. Up to ten at-large director positions shall be selected by the Chatham County Board of Commissioners. Each of these atlarge directors shall serve four year terms, with one-half of those directors appointed by the board every two years following the swearing in of new or returning commissioners that resulted from the bi-annual election of County Commissioners. The Chatham County Commissioners shall make their appointments from a roster of candidates who have completed the formal application and review process conducted by the Board of Directors of this corporation based on a process and qualifications agreed to by the Board of Directors of the corporation and the Chatham County Board of Commissioners."

Commissioners Dasher and Howard each have a selection to run concurrent with his and her terms. We have provided the completed applications for those selections.

Enclosed are the two letters provided by the EDC nomination committee, applications of all current

P.O. Box 1627 | 964 East St. | Pittsboro, NC 27312 919-542-8274 | chathamedc.org applicants, the 2013 applications of the members recommended for reappointment and the roster of EDC Board of Directors who unanimously voted in support of the recommendations. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Type E. Jourhotom

Kyle E. Touchstone President