RESOLUTION SUPPORTING DESIGNATION OF THE 7 COUNTY TRIANGLE J REGION AS AN ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT DISTRICT

Whereas, Chatham County is located in the Triangle J Region of North Carolina; and

Whereas, In November 2012, the Triangle J Council of Governments Board of Delegates unanimously adopted The Triangle J Region Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS) for the seven county Triangle J Region planning area comprised of Chatham, Durham, Johnston, Lee, Moore, Orange, Wake Counties and their municipalities; and

Whereas, the Board of Delegates of Triangle J Council of Governments has directed that Triangle J should undertake activities that further economic development and social welfare in the Triangle J Region planning area and to promote economic development and job creation by carrying out community and economic development initiatives as outlined in the adopted CEDS; and

Whereas, Portions of the seven Counties within the Triangle J Region meet all applicable measures of economic distress for unemployment and per capita income as provided in 13CFR 301.3 for the 24-month period ending February 2017 and the region has experienced job losses that qualify through US EDA under special need; and

Whereas, the Triangle J Council of Governments is seeking Economic Development District (EDD) designation for the Triangle J Region planning area through the United States Economic Development Administration; and

Whereas, the designation of the Triangle J Region planning area as an EDD will further the community and economic development interests of the seven-county region and greatly enhance implementation of our regional CEDS by coordinating efforts to create jobs, build an entrepreneurial economy and attract reinvestment in communities throughout our region – large, small, urban and rural.

Now, Therefore, Be it Resolved, that the Chatham County Board of Commissioners, as duly elected and authorized representatives of the people of Chatham County, do hereby support the designation of the seven-county Triangle J Region planning area, comprised of Chatham, Durham, Johnston, Lee, Moore, Orange, Wake Counties and their municipalities, as an Economic Development District through the U.S. Economic Development Administration.

Transfer the 20 day of March, 2017.		
Jim Crawford, Chair	Lindsay K. Ray	
Chatham County Board of Commissioners	Clerk to the Board	

Adopted the 20th day of March 2017

Chatham County Board of Commissioners