

CHATHAM COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

James Crawford, Chairman Diana Hales, Vice Chair Mike Cross Karen Howard **Walter Petty**

COUNTY MANAGER

Renee Paschal

P. O. Box 1809, Pittsboro, NC 27312-1809 • Phone: (919) 542-8200

Established 1771

Resolution of the Chatham County Board of Commissioners

Proclaiming September 2016 as Senior Center Month

WHEREAS, September is National Senior Center Month—an opportunity to highlight Chatham's two state-designated Senior Centers of Excellence, which are managed by the Chatham County Council on Aging; and

WHEREAS, the 2016 national theme is Find Balance at Your Center, which recognizes that there are a wide range services and activities offered at the Eastern and Western Chatham Senior Centers for Chatham citizens all across the county; and

WHEREAS, these opportunities promote physical and mental wellness and active engagement and include such programs as senior meals, caregiver support, exercise and health promotion, leisure and recreational activities, field trips, falls prevention and other classes, hiking and travel groups, health insurance and tax assistance counseling, information and options counseling, and multiple opportunities for meaningful volunteerism; and

WHEREAS, the Chatham County Council on Aging and its many community partners are committed to promoting active aging and wellness among older adults as well as helping them remain living in their choice of residence for as long as possible.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Chatham County Board of Commissioners that we hereby proclaim September 2016 to be Senior Center Month and urge all residents to take time this month to discover the offerings of Chatham's two Senior Centers and the Chatham County Council on Aging and to look for ways to participate in their activities as well as contribute to their work.

Adopted by the Chatham County Board of Commissioners on August 15, 2016.

ATTEST:	James Crawford, Chairman Chatham County Board of Commissioners
Lindsay K. Ray, Clerk to the Board Chatham County Board of Commissioners	