

## **COUNTY COMMISSIONERS**

Karen Howard, Chair Katie Kenlan, Vice Chair David Delaney Franklin Gomez Flores Amanda Robertson

**COUNTY MANAGER**: Bryan Thompson

## Resolution of the Chatham County Board of Commissioners Recognizing the 20th Anniversary of the Chatham County Community Resource Court

WHEREAS, on March 17, 2005, Chatham County established the Community Resource Court to address the unique needs of individuals with mental health conditions and other challenges who come into contact with the justice system; and

WHEREAS, this pioneering court program was created to prioritize rehabilitation, stability, and accountability by connecting participants with essential mental health services, substance use treatment, and community resources, rather than relying solely on punitive measures; and

WHEREAS, the Community Resource Court has fostered strong collaboration among judges, attorneys, mental health professionals, law enforcement, advocates, service providers, and community partners, all working together to support participants in achieving positive and lasting outcomes; and

WHEREAS, the program has played a vital role in reducing recidivism, enhancing public safety, lowering costs, and improving the overall well-being and stability of participants; and

WHEREAS, the continued success and impact of the Community Resource Court reflect Chatham County's commitment to compassionate justice, community wellness, and the ongoing effort to reduce the stigma surrounding mental health; and

WHEREAS, as of the end of 2024, a total of 562 individuals have been referred to the Chatham County Community Resource Court, demonstrating its reach and effectiveness over the past two decades.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Chatham County Board of Commissioners formally recognizes and celebrates the 20th Anniversary of the Chatham County Community Resource Court, honoring its profound impact on individuals and the community, and encouraging all residents to support and acknowledge this invaluable program and the dedicated professionals who have contributed to its success over the past 20 years.

Adopted, this the 17 <sup>th</sup> day of March 2025.	
	Karen Howard, Chair
ATTEST:	
Jenifer K Johnson, Clerk to the Board	
Integrity – Respect — Collaboration –	– Community — Equity — Service — Accountability